• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

11 Cyclones named to Athlon’s preseason All-Big 12 teams

Sep 24, 2016; Ames, IA, USA;  Iowa State Cyclones wide receiver Allen Lazard (5) catches a touchdown pass while defended by San Jose State Spartans cornerback Andre Chachere (21) during the game at Jack Trice Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

Iowa State has 11 players on Athlon Sports‘ preseason All-Big 12 teams, the magazine announced on Tuesday. The Iowa Staters on the list are led by first-team selections wide receiver Allen Lazard and safety Kamari Cotton-Moya.

Cornerback Brian Peavy is the team’s only second-team pick, but running back David Montgomery, offensive tackle Jake Campos, defensive end JaQuan Bailey, linebacker Willie Harvey and punt returner Trever Ryen represent the Cyclones on the third-team.

Defensive tackle Ray Lima, kicker Garrett Owens and punter Colin Downing are on the fourth-team. Lima and Owens are yet to play a game in an Iowa State uniform.

Texas, Oklahoma and Oklahoma State led the league with 15 selections while Kansas State had 13. The criteria for the teams is based on past performance and awards, but mostly on “predicting and projecting the best for the upcoming year.”

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.