What part of the " If any part is not considered fully inside the posts, it is a miss." is confusing. The bars are considered to out of bounds, so technically if it hits a post at all, even if it bounces in, it should be called no-good. It seems pretty cut and dried.
It would be your clear misinterpretation of the rules that isn’t “confusing”, but erroneous. The bars are considered “out of bounds” primarily in the case of a pass (or more unlikely, lateral or fumble) hitting the goal post. Then the ball is dead from that point. A receiver or defender can’t complete the play.
it’s blatantly obvious that rule doesn’t apply to field goals the way you’re applying it—because the ball would be dead the moment it touched the crossbar or uprights (out of bounds), and which direction it bounced would be irrelevant.
That would be like saying that a fumble or punt that touched the sideline but bounced back into the field was still in play. You’re trying to apply something where it’s not intended to be.
Trying to stick a square peg into a round hole. Not least, considering a ball above the uprights isn’t
touching out of bounds at all.