I looked it up in the NCAA rules. You would be incorrect.
The only thing specifically stated is that “above” the bars is not reviewable. Beyond that is a referee judgment call as to whether the ball would have gone inside or out. There is nothing else about “directly above”—except in the NFL.
Apparently those TV announcers you’re citing confused the NFL and NCAA rules.
There is also no rule in college on how tall the bars can or must be—also unlike the NFL.
What part of the " If any part is not considered fully inside the posts, it is a miss." is confusing. The bars are considered to out of bounds, so technically if it hits a post at all, even if it bounces in, it should be called no-good. It seems pretty cut and dried.