Starting your own business

ruxCYtable

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 29, 2007
Colorado
I'm considering buying a well-known franchise in a very high-growth town that currently doesn't have one. Realistic scenario is I'd be taking about a 35% pay cut to start out but with the potential to build it into something fantastic.

We are debt-free and able to absorb the down-payment without issue. I'm willing to take a pay cut for the opportunity to pursue my dream of being my own boss. My wife is dead-set against it and has been from the start. I'm telling her sometimes you have to take risks in life to reach your dreams and now is the time for me to do that. She has a well-paying job, is the breadwinner and could provide the benefits.

Tell me your stories, CF entrepreneurs. Was it everything you thought it would be? Would you do it again?

Reactions: VikesFan22

SCNCY

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Sep 11, 2009
La Fox, IL
While I have no experience, I have been given good advice by others. In short, generally people who have a lot of money make it themselves. While you have a lot of support from corporate, you will be able to expand the number of locations within your footprint to be well off. If opening one store is a 35% pay cut, opening a second in a year or two should be well more than you are making now.

What franchise are you looking in to? Don't need to tell us the location.

somecyguy

Jun 19, 2006
It's hell and heaven wrapped up in a 80 hour work week.

I currently own 2 small businesses, which are my third and forth start ups overall. I simply can't function in a large business environment. I love it simply because I don't fit in anywhere else. I enjoy being the boss and having the latitude to make decisions even when the responsibilities that come with it sometimes suck.

CycloneErik

Jan 31, 2008
Jamerica
rememberingdoria.wordpress.com