HELP!! Choosing a Major

BigM

Mar 2, 2007
Amesterdam
Hi all i am currently a junior in high school and have a 3.2 gpa and 29 act
i need help choosing between A.B.E., Aero E, and ag genetics help is requested thank you!

jsmith86

Dec 5, 2006
Cedar Rapids
Go ChE... just joking, Aero is a LOT of math...and I say that while I take courses that regularly use diff eq. Ag genetics is a lot of biology, ABE more of a mix of everything. It really depends on what you want to do with it.

cc4td28

Apr 16, 2006
Warren, OH
I graduated in ME and am now in medical school. I also have family members in engineering. I would say, and all of them also told me, to not go into AeroE. Just not much out there for jobs and pay isn't that great. I liked ME because it gives you a ton of options. However, if I would have gone to grad school in engineering I would have chosen Civil because I ended up liking my classes in that area.

tman24

Feb 6, 2008
Finance hahaha

If you like all three try to decide which one will have the best long term availability or one with the biggest $$$.

Last edited:

jsmith86

Dec 5, 2006
Cedar Rapids
I graduated in ME and am now in medical school. I also have family members in engineering. I would say, and all of them also told me, to not go into AeroE. Just not much out there for jobs and pay isn't that great. I liked ME because it gives you a ton of options. However, if I would have gone to grad school in engineering I would have chosen Civil because I ended up liking my classes in that area.

Semi related question...any idea how grad school is for ME, or how hard it is to switch to another type of engineering for grad school?

Reactions: joefrog

joefrog

Apr 29, 2008
Clive, Iowa
I know, just want input. I really like all three fields.