NO FANS AT CYCLONE GAMES?

Brandon

Feb 6, 2014
My opinion is and I am no medical expert by any means is that they're gonna have fans in the stadium. If you dont like it dont go. The virus is going to have to run it's course. I for one likely won't be going though.

Reactions: cygrads

cygrads

Jul 27, 2007
Altoona, IA
And 40 to 45 days is a ton of time in a fluid situation. If the state of Iowa makes the same progress in the next 45 days it has in the previous it will be hard to justify shutting things down at that point. My point remains, this is not a decision that needs or should be made now. The AD has taken measures to prepare and they are in a good spot to wait and see.
Agree and I imagine when JP arranged the 50% capacity at JTS he modified contracts for that level or if there's no attendance. They may be able to wait until a week or so before the first game to make the call.

jsb

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 7, 2008
In the end, I suspect all NCAA schools do the same thing. It’s not worth worrying about now.

cycloner29

Dec 17, 2008
Ames
My gut tells me that this is politically motivated more than anything else.

Well.... it sounds like Dr. Paschen has a axe to grind with ISU athletics from what I have heard. There is even talk of furloughing people in the athletic department now.

FYI - Dr. Paschen's wife Cynthia is running for election to the Iowa State Senate to represent District 24.

Reactions: ArgentCy

Angie

Tugboats and arson.
Staff member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 27, 2006
IA
This is more about people visiting from other counties

A month ago when the state reopened and our numbers were low, I would have agreed with you. At this point, we are the pariahs in the state of Iowa, for the rate of new infections. I don't know why anyone would want to come to the city growing sixth fastest in the nation.