How bad are athlete's parents?

CoachKM

Sep 19, 2008
West Des Moines
As a high school coach, I would hope after 22 emails from the same parent my AD or principal would get involved and facilitate a face to face meeting with me and the parent. Show some video, state your case then let them know the matter is finished. Easy to say, I guess.

jcisuclones

Nov 23, 2011
Ames, IA
As a high school coach, I would hope after 22 emails from the same parent my AD or principal would get involved and facilitate a face to face meeting with me and the parent. Show some video, state your case then let them know the matter is finished. Easy to say, I guess.
Where I went to high school, the AD was involved with (and still is, I've heard) with the politics involved with playing time. Those who have parents who donate a bunch to the booster club, more than likely will see more playing time.

CoachKM

Sep 19, 2008
West Des Moines
Where I went to high school, the AD was involved with (and still is, I've heard) with the politics involved with playing time. Those who have parents who donate a bunch to the booster club, more than likely will see more playing time.

I totally believe this. Sad but true.

Sigmapolis

Minister of Economy
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 10, 2011
Waukee
what is it about all sports that make people go crazy?

we've got a days worth of posts about how terrible the Iowa state coaches are and how bad the players are. And everyone is sure they don’t care about winning.

My pet theory is that --

We are physiologically and psychologically cavemen. Humans were hunter-gatherers for 200,000 years before being serfs/peasant farmers/slaves for roughly 12,000 years before we developed a modern economy and society ~250 years ago.

Evolution has not kept up.

When we were hunter-gatherers, athleticism, tribal oneness, and violence was the name of the game. They directly led to food, safety, survival, and reproduction.