SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 27, 2006
IA
Best wishes! I'm sorry about that. :(

mustangcy

Apr 11, 2006
Bloomfield
I was apart of a plant closing back in 2006, so needless to say I know what losing a job feels like. Sucks. Probably not the thing you want to hear but it was a blessing in the end. I have a much better job today that I might not have if not for that plant closing.

wxman1

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jul 2, 2008
Cedar Rapids
I graduated from ISU with BS in HRI. Was in that field for 10 years, since then have managed a few different businesses. The last one I was with (7 1/2 years) was a garage door company in which I was responsible for everything except for doing the actual installs or services work. Sales exceeded 1M every year, which was a result of what I did, I was the salesman also. Thanks everyone for your support, it definitely helps!

A couple places I know of that are hiring similar type of skill sets are Rockwell (actually intertrade but look on Rockwell's job page under program management I believe) and PM in CR.

cdnlngld

Feb 24, 2012
Ames, IA
Lost my job in 2008 1 week short of my 1 year anniversary, as a result of the housing crash. Looked for work for 8 mo. with not much luck(everyone was looking for the perfect candidate at the time). Talked my way into contracting with my employer before that and was making crazy money for the next year, working from home. Profesionaly one of the best years of my existence. Had to look for more traditional work when they wanted to hire me back as a full time temp employee because the commute was killing me. It all panned out, and because I went back to my previous employer, I found out that the company I now work for was hiring and had an in because they had a supplier/customer relationship with my old employer. And to be quite honest the time during my unemployment, felt like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders, because in all honesty, I hated my then current job.

Bobber

Apr 12, 2006