Permit to Carry Firearm

cyfan92

Sep 20, 2011
Augusta National Golf Club
I have been pondering the idea of getting my conceal and carry permit in Story County for about a month now. I am wondering if any of you have advice or have had success with obtaining this?

I have a clean record, except a speeding ticket last year (5 over in Huxley) still bitter about it... I have been hunting in Iowa for 10 years and have passed all courses needed. Any advice?

Judoka

Jun 16, 2010
Timbuktu
Concealed carry permits are super easy to get. Just take a class (I'm pretty sure Bass Pro Shop hosts them regularly if you can't find one elsewhere) and fill out a one page form.

Freebird

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Apr 11, 2006
Iowa is a "shall" state, not a "may" state. You should have no issue getting your permit. Just go to the Story County FAQ page and it will list everything you need to do/bring.

DSMCy

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Feb 1, 2013
West Des Moines
I would recommend Common Sense Firearms Training in Ankeny. They offer Groupons all the time. I think I took it for like $20.
The instructor is very knowledgeable and isn't afraid to tell you how he thinks.
http://commonsensefirearmstraining.com/

Otherwise I agree with the other posters. Almost scary easy to get a permit.

JP4CY

I'm Mike Jones
Staff member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Dec 19, 2008
Testifying
It's not a conceal and carry permit. I have an: Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons (nonprofessional).

You legally can walk down the sidewalk without it concealed, although I wouldn't recommend it.

Make sure you get proper training. Plenty of NRA sponsored classes that are very professionally handled. I took mine from a Sheriff's deputy.

cyfan92

Sep 20, 2011
I would recommend Common Sense Firearms Training in Ankeny. They offer Groupons all the time. I think I took it for like $20.
The instructor is very knowledgeable and isn't afraid to tell you how he thinks.
http://commonsensefirearmstraining.com/