First bar you went to at ISU

IsUaClone2

May 12, 2006
Northville, MI
When I was in school they did not allow bars within one mile of campus as that was a stipulation of Mary Greeley when she donated the money for the hospital. This helped keep me in shape as I didn't have a car. Within eight years after I graduated they changed the policy figuring that since Mary had been dead for many years, she probably wouldn't mind enough to ask for her money back so they allowed bars closer to campus.

If you wanted to buy hard liquor you had to drive to Nevada for the closest state liquor store. When I was a freshman and sophmore, you had to have a state-issued liquor book where they recorded each of your purchases. At least that was changed before I turned 21.

The state liquor stores were open from 10:00 to 7:00. That caused the state to pay their employees two hours overtime so they decided to close the stores two hours earlier, in spite of the fact that most working people would not be able to make it. Fortunately somebody batted them severely about the head and shoulders and they opened two hours later instead.

kingcy

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Sep 16, 2006
Menlo, Iowa
Minor- Deans list

Legal- Cy's

The bar in the basement of DL was a good hang out spot (I forgot the name). There always seemed to be a football player or basketball player there too.

Last edited:

trueclone2

May 18, 2007
Ames
1st Ames bar that I remember was Honky Dory's if that is the correct name it was a country bar then. It was also the easiest to get into at the time.

WAS is still favorite.

Incyte

Apr 12, 2007
I think mine was Honky Dory's. That's sad.

I still pine for Welch's. I spend 3 nights a week there my entire Junior year.

cybsball20

Nov 26, 2006
Des Moines, IA