Nearly 20 Cyclones earn All-Big 12 honors

Sep 14, 2019; Ames, IA, USA; Iowa Hawkeyes defensive back Geno Stone (9) tackles Iowa State Cyclones tight end Charlie Kolar (88) at Jack Trice Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

For the third time this decade, and the first time since 2017, three Cyclones were named to the All-Big 12’s first-team. Tight end Charlie Kolar, offensive tackle Julian Good-Jones and safety Greg Eisworth led the nearly 20 Iowa State football players to receive honors announced on Wednesday by being voted to the Big 12’s top team voted on by the league’s coaches.

Kolar solidified himself as one of the top tight ends in college football in 2019 while setting multiple school records for a tight end while Good-Jones broke the school record for consecutive starts when he was on the field for Iowa State’s first snap for the 49th consecutive time against Kansas State.

Eisworth became just the fourth Cyclone to earn All-Big 12 first-team honors twice, joining Ennis Haywood, A.J. Klein and Allen Lazard.

Meanwhile, Brock Purdy joined Seneca Wallace as Cyclone quarterbacks to earn spots on one of the Big 12’s two teams. Purdy’s record-breaking sophomore campaign earned his second-team honors alongside teammates running Breece Hall, wide receiver Deshaunte Jones, tight end Chase Allen and nose guard Ray Lima.

The Cyclones also had 11 players earn honorable mention honors in offensive lineman Trevor Downing, cornerback Anthony Johnson, nose guard Jamahl Johnson, offensive guard Josh Knipfel, wide receiver La’Michael Pettway, linebacker Mike Rose, tight end/fullback Dylan Soehner, linebacker Marcel Spears, defensive end Enyi Uwazurike, linebacker O’Rien Vance and safety Lawrence White.

Hall (offensive freshman of the year), Good-Jones (offensive lineman of the year), Tayvonn Kyle (defensive freshman of the year), Pettway (offensive newcomer), Purdy (offensive player of the year) and Steve Wirtel (special teams player of the year) all received votes for some of the league’s top honors.

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard was named the league’s offensive player of the year, Baylor defensive lineman James Lynch was the defensive player of the year and Baylor’s Matt Rhule was named head coach of the year.

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.

Recent Posts