So what went wrong this year?

psyclone51

Nov 6, 2011
I really think this was a great group of girls. So what happened. Was it as simple as youth, because we are a young team, or was there more to it. I am interested in everyone's perspective on this. I do feel badly for the team, as no one will be more disappointed than they are.

moforisu

Jun 12, 2006
At this level I would think youth plays a good chunk of it, and I'm not an expert by anymeans but I think you need some girls with an attitude.

Sad it's over for them.

cowgirl836

Sep 3, 2009
things really went downhill about a month ago when we stopped getting the production from Capezio. I think we just simply had too many holes to overcome. New setter + new passers + losing a top player......I think there just too many key areas that we had to rebuild on. IIRC, 2010 was Allison's first year as setter and we got bounced 1st round there too.

Tornado man

Sep 16, 2007
Ames, IA
Couldn't tell you - CJL was always optimistic about the team (at least publicly) all the way to the bitter end. Tonight it was a case of no one on ISU's team to counter CU's Simpson. She dominated the match. Also, we get away with winning often, while playing poorly, in the Big 12. ISU tied for 3rd at 11-5, and got beat soundly by a team that finished seventh in the Pac 12, and had a losing conference record. Wow. If this team had played in the Big Ten or Pac 12, they wouldn't even have made the tourney. Don't know the exact formula for determining a team's volleyball RPI, but our current #23 ranking is mystifying...

cowgirl836

Sep 3, 2009