PT13, you continue to read more into the rule than the rule explicitly states. The rule only addresses losing control when the ball hits the ground and does not ever talk about another players trying to strip the ball. So, the entire question really revolves around did he have control when his knee touched the ground. If he did it's a catch. If he didn't, it's either an interception or an incomplete pass. But, never did the ground cause Jarvis to lose control of the ball. The rule is there to ensure the player continues to control the ball after he or the ball hits the ground. To interpret the rule any other way would say that a catch is never a catch until the player hits the ground with his entire body and we know that is not true.
Please see section 4, article 3 and the approved ruling Rule 7, section 3, article 6. If the officials are interrupting the rule as it's written, I have to believe the officials on the field felt Jarvis did not have control when his knee touched the ground and the booth did not have a camera angle that would allow them to override the official on the field. But in all cases, it's when his knee touched the ground and not any time after that, per the written rule.