You must have different pictures. The pics I see show Evans with the ball before west even makes it all the way to the ground.
No, you don't understand the rule. If a receiver catches the ball and just drops to his knee like west, and the ball is secure he is down. Receivers catch the ball all the time and never drop entirely to the ground. Some catch the ball and just graze their knee. They are called down. Defenders are not allowed to then go strip the ball from them.
You guys simply don't understand the rule or the context of it. West would have never gone to the ground at all if the player wasn't pulling him down. See his arm extended holding himself up after being pulled over by the player. West dropped straight to his knees ending the catch. He was not falling forward until the player pulled him that way tearing at the ball.
My goodness, all those receivers that just fall to their knees like west better look out. LOL
Look at the picture. Evans arm isn't even on the ball when West's knee is on the ground.
Does anyone have a video of the play? I'm curious because its extremely hard to debate something when you can't watch it.So apparently the refs, the replay official, AND Mike Pereira don't understand the rule either...
Jarvis had not completed the act of the catch plain and simple...if had taken two steps then the catch would've been complete and he could've gone to the ground with his knee down and he would be down by contact with no fumble and no INT.
Problem is he was going down as he caught the ball and the defender stripped it away so he was not down and it was an INT.
It's the Calvin Johnson rule with a change of possession...Jarvis did not complete the catch. As someone mentioned earlier, if Jarvis had touched his knee and then his upper body hit the ground and he dropped the ball it would not have been catch because he didn't go to the ground with possession.
And touching a knee is fine if you complete the catch through the action of the play...that did not happen in this case.
Interesting play just now in the 49ers/Cowboys game. Jason Witten made a catch while being pulled down. He had the ball only in his right hand, low down toward his legs. He's pulled down and loses the ball after his knee hits the turf. They rule it a completed catch, no fumble as his knee was down. Why didn't he have to "complete the process of the catch" by securing the ball with both hands up near his body?
Disagree with the rule all you want but BY RULE the right call was made
So apparently the refs, the replay official, AND Mike Pereira don't understand the rule either...
Jarvis had not completed the act of the catch plain and simple...if had taken two steps then the catch would've been complete and he could've gone to the ground with his knee down and he would be down by contact with no fumble and no INT.
Problem is he was going down as he caught the ball and the defender stripped it away so he was not down and it was an INT.
It's the Calvin Johnson rule with a change of possession...Jarvis did not complete the catch. As someone mentioned earlier, if Jarvis had touched his knee and then his upper body hit the ground and he dropped the ball it would not have been catch because he didn't go to the ground with possession.
And touching a knee is fine if you complete the catch through the action of the play...that did not happen in this case.
You must have different pictures. The pics I see show Evans with the ball before west even makes it all the way to the ground.
No, I have seen so many officials who absolutely cant interpret anything and didn't play the game that your comments about them mean absolutely nothing to me. I have seen officials that cant tell when the play clock expires. How can that be? I have seen officials call a texas player down that fumbled the ball standing up!!!!!!! Replay officials did not overule this call. I have seen officials give a kansas quarterback a touchdown when the ruling on the field was he didnt score and it didnt look like he scored and you could not see any part of the ball!!!!!!
So forget the how can these officials get it wrong bs!!!! OH and many of them have been caught taking money!
You are completely wrong. For example, if a player catches a ball and falls out of bounds three yards and drops the ball it's an incompletion. Are you telling me a defensive player could take the ball away from him out of bounds and have it be an interception??? LOL Are you serious?
Again, you don't understand the rule and clearly didnt address any point I made.
1. he is not bobbling the ball
2. He has clear possession of the ball with his knees down.
3. Defensive player does not have any possession of the ball.
4. West dropped to his knees.
5. He absolutely does not have to go to the ground to complete a catch. Mike the idiot Periera was wrong here too. At no time is a receiver required to put his entire body on the ground to complete a catch. Please point me to the rule that says you have to go completely to the ground to complete a catch. Good luck!
6. West would have never hit his entire body on the ground. He dropped to his knees intentionally just like thousands of receivers have done in the history of football! None were required to fall to their belly to complete a catch. The catch is complete when he has control and is down. You somehow don't get that.
7. The offensive player by rule gets possession when both players possess the ball. Of course, they didn't so its Isu's ball anyway.
8. Taking a literal interpretation of a rule and applying it to situations it is not intended for means you don't understand the rule.
Oh and I am still laughing at your go by what the officials say comment. Get real. It's laughable.
Because he took 2 steps before being drug down which secures possession.
That and a fumble and interception aren't the same thing.
No... Once his knee touches the ground, play is over.
The point that you are missing is that he didn't "complete a football move" prior to losing the ball. Look at it this way... Say a receiver runs a slant route... gets hit square in the chest with the ball (having both hands on it and in control) but a split second later gets nailed by the DB in the back, thus knocking the ball to the turf before he could turn up field. Is that a fumble? No it's an incomplete pass.
In the case with Jarvis... pretend there is no defender there at all. Despite having both hands on the ball and a knee down, if the ball squirts free when the rest of his body hits the ground, it's still an incomplete pass. The only reason it was an interception is because the ball never actually hit the ground and the KSU guy came up with the ball. No different than any other deflected pass.
Uh, no. You are not required at any time to drop your entire body on the ground to complete a catch. You have to have control of the ball. Receivers drop to their knees immediately after catching the ball all the time. These receivers are down. Defenders are not allowed to strip the ball from them if they control the ball and drop to their knees themselves. West dropped to his knees. He has control of the ball. HE iS not required to put his entire body on the ground!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
At no time in football are you required to do this. none. end of story. you are suggesting he was still trying to possess the ball falling forward to the ground. That is absolutley not what happened. It's about control. You don't get that.
If you can prove that receivers have to put their entire body on the ground to complete a catch then I will believe you. Good luck with that.
As long as we're talking about the catch in the 4th quarter on the sideline, then he had a foot down just inside the sideline when he caught the ball. If it's the one at the end of the first half, then it's debateable on if he was in bounds or not.It looked like replay showed his knee hitting out of bounds first. I could be wrong.