Youth Sports and some Questions

Gossamer

Apr 10, 2014
Ok...I want feedback and thoughts from parents. And I say parents because if you don't have kids, you might not be able to appreciate some of what I'm talking about.

I am a youth coach of multiple sports...all sports I played for years and some at higher levels than others. That said, my expectation is that kids learn the game and respect both the game and their opponents, understand how to work hard, take pride in their effort and respect authority.

My 12-year old daughter plays on a soccer team that is poorly coached, is undisciplined, lacks fundamental skills and never gets better. Yet, at the end of every game the coach says the same crap...good effort and you all deserve ice cream. Practice is more fun than work and fundamentals are forgotten.

Here are my questions...

Have we begun to develop kids who only play for social status or fun?

Is this a product of participation trophies?

Are parents similar in their approach because of the aforementioned?

Am I old school because I believe practice, even at the rec level should be just that and include working?

Is this the genesis for travel teams?

Is it too much to show and ask for intensity from kids at 10+ so they understand effort, being focused, etc.?

I"m not talking about crazy stuff but demanding effort and not being ok with laziness. I'm talking about pulling kids out if they are walking or half-assing it.

I'm really struggling because my fear is to lie to kids when they suck (because of effort) or tell them they worked hard when they clearly didn't. I don't want to be responsible for providing a kid a false sense of effort. I don't expect them to be good...but I expect them to try.