I thought he was talking about this guy:
mnworuy6kfaykuvad6qf.jpg
No. He was a professor of archeology.

wxman1

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jul 2, 2008
Cedar Rapids
Personal finance was never taught to us, but I think it was assumed that our parents would instruct us in that.

I hated how history was taught. Dates and names, dates and names. The "why" was never taught. I hated history for that reason. I had to develop my current love of history much later in life when I took the time to appreciate the reasons behind everything.

Amen! Sadly and thankfully my government teacher was awesome and did a great job of helping you to relate to what was being taught and why it was important. He also taught us a lot on how to not get in trouble with the police and how to get out of tickets.

Cybyassociation

Mar 5, 2008
I am a high school Business teacher. We have kids who don't know how to type because the 4th grade teachers who are supposed to teach them don't know how to teach them how to properly type...so they just don't. 15 year old freshman who type at 15-20wpm.

• Informative
Reactions: khardbored

kevdiv48

Apr 21, 2011
Houston
I am a high school Business teacher. We have kids who don't know how to type because the 4th grade teachers who are supposed to teach them don't know how to teach them how to properly type...so they just don't. 15 year old freshman who type at 15-20wpm.
Really? I figure with all of the devices these days the kids would be able to type at an earlier age than HS. Or maybe they're just able to type with their thumbs on a phone or tablet.

• Agree
Reactions: Farnsworth

Cyfan4good

Jul 7, 2009
Ankeny
I went to a small rural HS, 90 total students. Didn't do any research papers there and learned the hard way in college that I had no idea how to properly write and give credit to sources.
Many other examples of how my HS didn't prepare me for college but you get the idea.