I'd Rather Recruit DL than OL

isucy86

Apr 13, 2006
Dubuque
IMO a team can never recruit too many DL prospects. Keep the best on the DL and the kids who can't maintain their quickness when they bulk up can be moved to OL.

It seems to me the former staff never recruited enough DL prospects, especially at DT. Then to compound the problem we recruited OL prospects that might have been big, but ran a 5.3 forty.

kurimski

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Apr 11, 2006
What should the coaching staff be looking for in an Oline recruit? I know you obviously want somebody big and strong. How fast do you really want him to be? I wouldn't want somebody that is just big, fat, and slow. What should their typical size be, bench press, and speed be just out of curiousity?

clonefan_80

May 28, 2007
Ames
I'm no expert, obviously, but here's my opinion. I'd say minimums for a kid should be 6'3", 280lbs, runs his 40 under 5 seconds, benches 300, and squats 400. Obviously shear football skills and the love of the game outrank all of these and desire can overcome anyone of them.

superfan

Oct 8, 2006
League City, TX
What should the coaching staff be looking for in an Oline recruit? I know you obviously want somebody big and strong. How fast do you really want him to be? I wouldn't want somebody that is just big, fat, and slow. What should their typical size be, bench press, and speed be just out of curiousity?

Well, a prototypical NFL lineman is about 6'3" to 6'8", somewhere between 290-320 lbs. 4.9-5.2 40 yard dash. Depending on the system, what you want can vary. For a zone blocking system, you usually want smaller, quicker lineman. Probably between 30-40 reps (225 lbs) on the bench. For a HS recruit you'd obviously get something less developed.

For perspective:

Michael Brewster, OL, Orlando (OSU 2008 commit and Rivals 100 #8 overall)
Ht: 6-foot-6
Wt: 305 lbs
Forty: 5.1 secs
Bench reps: 26
Vertical: 20 inches
Shuttle: 4.63 secs