Mike Warren named to the Maxwell Award watch list

The following is a press release courtesy of ISU Athletics Communication.

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State sophomore running back Mike Warren has been named to the 2016 Maxwell Award watch list, announced today by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award has been given annually since 1937 to the nation’s best football player and is in honor of Robert "Tiny" Maxwell, who made significant contributions to college football as a player, sportswriter and official.

Warren led all NCAA freshmen in rushing in 2015 by gaining 1,339 yards, the third-best effort by a rookie in Big 12 history. He also broke ISU’s season record with a 5.9 yards per carry average.

A native of Lawton, Okla., Warren led the Big 12 in rushing (league games only) at 131.7 yards per game and topped the 100-yard mark in a game six times.

A preseason first-team All-Big 12 choice in a number of publications, Warren was the 2015 Big 12 Offensive Freshman of the Year and was named First-Team Freshman All-American by the Sporting News, USA Today and FWAA.

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.