• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

Niang a finalist for Karl Malone Award


Karl Chevrolet gives you peace of mind when you purchase a GM Certified Pre-owned vehicle. We have been the #1 GM Certified dealer in the nation for 10 consecutive years. Before you make your next purchase, come see why more people nationwide drive a Karl Chevrolet Pre-owned vehicle than any other dealer-There is a difference, Come see why TODAY!!

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior Georges Niang has been named one of the Final 5 candidates for the Karl Malone Award, given annually to the nation’s best power forward. This is the second consecutive season that Niang has been one of the finalists for the award, presented by the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Niang, a Methuen, Massachusetts, native, is the only player in the nation averaging at least 19 points and six rebounds, while also shooting 50 percent on field goals and 80 percent at the line. Only 23 players (29 times) have done this since 1994-95, with the last being Creighton’s Doug McDermott in 2013-14. Niang has been in double figures all 31 games this season, including 12 games with 20 or more points.

Niang averaged 20 points and shot 54 percent from the field in Big 12 play, becoming just the fifth player in league history to do so (Blake Griffin, Oklahoma; Andre Emmett, Texas Tech; Marcus Fizer, Iowa State; Raef LaFrentz, Kansas). 

The winner of this award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. By visiting hoophallawards.com, fans will have the ability to vote for who they think should win. The voting opens on Friday, March 11 and will run until Friday, March 25.

Karl Malone Award Final 5

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Jameel Warney, Stony Brook