• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

McCarney, Tinsley headline ISU Hall of Fame Class of 2016

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State Letterwinners Club announced today Iowa State’s Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2016. Eight former Cyclone stars will be inducted into the Iowa State Hall of Fame on Sept. 23 in a special ceremony at the Sukup End Zone Club in Ames. The inductees will be honored at halftime of the Iowa State-San Jose State football game on Sept. 24.

The Iowa State Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and 168 Cyclone legends have been enshrined.

Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Mark Diab- Gymnastics

•        Two-time national champion in the still rings (1985, 1986)
•         Two-time All-American (1985, 1986)
•         Two-time Big Eight champion in the still rings (1984, 1986)
•         Three-time NCAA finalist in the still rings (1984, 1985, 1986)
•         Iowa State Male Athlete of the Year (1986)

Arthur Holding- Wrestling

•        Iowa State’s first national champion (1928), winning the 135-pound NCAA title

•        First three-time conference champion in school history (1927, 1928, 1929)

•        National AAU champion in 1928

•        First Cyclone wrestling Olympian, competing in the 1928 Olympic Games in Amsterdam

•        Member of Iowa State’s first conference championship team in 1929

Dan McCarney- Football

•        Led Iowa State to a school-record five bowl games (2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005)

•        Winningest coach in Iowa State football history (56)

•        Coached Iowa State to its first-ever bowl victory in 2000 (Insight.com Bowl)

•        His 2000 team tied school record with nine wins and ended season ranked in the AP top-25

•        Big 12 Coach of the Year in 2004

•        Big 12 North co-champion in 2004

•        Led Iowa State to its first top-10 national ranking (No. 9) in 2002

•        Coached 15 players who played a game in the NFL

Megan Taylor- Women’s Basketball

•        Honorable Mention All-American in 2000

•        Four-time All-Big 12 selection (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001)

•        Big 12 Freshman of the Year (1998)

•        Ended career owning school records in six categories

•        Started all 132 games of her career, compiling a 104-28 record

•        Played in four NCAA Tournaments and helped team share the 2000 Big 12 regular-season title

•        Won two Big 12 Tournament titles (2000, 2001)

•        Tied for first in career 3-pointers at Iowa State with 287

•        Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year (2001)

Jamaal Tinsley- Men’s Basketball

•        First-Team All-American in 2001

•        Big 12 Player of the Year (2001)
•         Runner-up in the Associated Press voting for National Player of the Year in 2001

•        Two-time first-team All-Big 12 pick (2000, 2001)

•        Big 12 Newcomer of the Year (2000)

•        Was 57-11 overall and 34-0 in Hilton Coliseum in his two seasons

•        Led ISU to back-to-back Big 12 regular-season titles (2000, 2001)
•         Owns school season records in assists (244) and steals (98)

•        The 27th selection of the 2001 NBA Draft, playing 11 seasons in the NBA

Reg Wicks- Wrestling

•        NCAA national champion at 160 pounds in 1968

•        Earned All-America honors in 1968

•        Won a Midlands title in 1967 and finished runner-up in 1968
•         Iowa State finished second, third and second at the NCAA Championships in his three seasons

•        Head coach at Navy from 1988-2000, compiling an 173-60-5 overall record

•        Inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1998

•        Inducted into the Iowa High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2005

Erin Woods- Softball

•        First-team All-Big 12 (1999)
•         Second-team All-Big 12 (1996, 1998)
•         First-team All-Midwest Region (1999)

•        First player in school history to hit 10 home runs in a season.

•        Played in two Olympic Games for Canada (2000- Sydney and 2004- Athens)

•        Only softball player to have her jersey retired (#2)

Raf Wyns- Men’s Track & Field

•        Five-time All-American (1985, 1986, 1987)

•        Placed sixth in the 3,000 meter at the 1986 NCAA Indoor Championships

•        Nine-time Big Eight champion

•        Won three titles at both the 1985 and 1986 Big Eight Indoor Championships

•        Named Most Outstanding Athlete at the 1985 and 1986 Big Eight Indoor Championships

•        Member of seven Big Eight Conference championship teams

•        School-record holder in the indoor 3,000 meter (7:49.83)


Cyclone Fanatic