Tire Help

mj4cy

Asst. Regional Manager
Staff member
Mar 28, 2006
Iowa
I'm looking to get new tires today for a 2003 Ford Taurus and was wondering to you car people what some good brands were and some good questions to ask people when I call them. En-Tire in Ames said they had lots of brands ranging from 75-100 bucks per tire. Any help? Thanks!

jdoggivjc

Sep 27, 2006
Macomb, MI
I think the general consensus from a couple of weeks ago was to go with the Kumho, but I'm no tire expert and the opinion could be different for a Ford Taurus...

mj4cy

Asst. Regional Manager
Staff member
Mar 28, 2006
Iowa
sweeet! I was hoping to not do this, but the tread is pretty darn thin and we're moving tomorrow.

kurimski

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Apr 11, 2006
Get Goodyear or the best brand available. You get what you pay for just remember that. You'll pay an extra $10-$20 per tire for the Goodyear but they'll last much longer than the cheapo brands.

mj4cy

Asst. Regional Manager
Staff member
Mar 28, 2006
Iowa
I called EN-Tires today and two of the names they said they had were uniroyal and riken

anyone have any experience with those?

Cyclonesrule91

Apr 10, 2006
Waukee
Get Goodyear or the best brand available. You get what you pay for just remember that. You'll pay an extra $10-$20 per tire for the Goodyear but they'll last much longer than the cheapo brands.

Bull Hockey on that theory....no offense.

All tire companies make good tires, but there are some companies who don't have to add $10-30/tire just so you can own a tire with their name on them. Kumho has really set itself apart from a lot of companies in that they are a very good quality tire and they actually expect you only pay for the tire...:yes:. You could go to 5 different stores and get 5 different opinions on who has the best tire, but that opinion is based on what tire gives them the best profit margin.