Sounds like APD ought to get the checkbook out

Stewo

Oct 29, 2008
Iowa
If I'm reading that correctly, the old lady threw a cup of water at the officer. That is assult, like it or not. Not saying he took the right measures, but he was justified, from terms of the law.

Haverhill

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jan 4, 2009
Ames
www.twitter.com
If I'm reading that correctly, the old lady threw a cup of water at the officer. That is assult, like it or not. Not saying he took the right measures, but he was justified, from terms of the law.

Next time I throw a cup at someone, I'll expect to have my shoulder broken. :jimlad:

CarolinaCy

Apr 18, 2008

Yes, nothing at all excessive about the amount of force used here :jimlad:

ISU_phoria

Apr 10, 2006
Andover, MN

I'm not a lawyer, but from my experiences, courts and the legal system in general place a lot of importance on actions taken compared to what a "reasaonable" person would have/should have done. It's not only the letter of the law that is important, but a comparison to what's reasonable.

I know "reasonable" is very subjective, but I believe it is a very strong consideration in most court cases like these.

pulse

Mar 24, 2006
"Her right shoulder and upper arm were fractured." Way to go! You showed her who's boss! Damn 84-year old woman. I hear those women born in 1925 are troublemakers.

bos

Legend
Staff member
Apr 10, 2006
I would have knocked over her wheelchair and pee'd in her denture cup. It would all be reasonable.

Stewo

Oct 29, 2008
Iowa
I'm not a lawyer, but from my experiences, courts and the legal system in general place a lot of importance on actions taken compared to what a "reasaonable" person would have/should have done. It's not only the letter of the law that is important, but a comparison to what's reasonable.

I know "reasonable" is very subjective, but I believe it is a very strong consideration in most court cases like these.