Question about the O-Line

CyinCo

Mar 24, 2006
Clive, IA
I'm not a trench expert by any means. I can see we have a problem since Meyer was sacked 7 times. But I don't know enough about how O-Lines work to understand whats the problem. Obviously Meyer is not getting time and it is costing us points and first downs. It seemed like on average against Texas, we had only 2 downs to work with before punting since one down would be a sack. That is a tough situation.

So, can someone please explain to me what is the problem with the line? They have the size and athletic ability. Is it a footwork problem? Are other teams just sending way more than we can block? Is our RB blocking the problem? Are the TEs not doing any blocking?

Seems to me if teams are sending more than we can block, you overcome this will counter plays.

Last edited:

Kyle

Mar 30, 2006
I think a lot of yesterday was just that our guys were physically mismatched, especially our running backs trying to pick up linebackers. Stevie just could not handle those linebackers yesterday.

CYdTracked

Mar 23, 2006
Grimes, IA
I'm disappointed with the O-Line lately. 4 Seniors and 1 Sophomore, the 4 seniors all weighing in at over 300+ lbs. With that kind of size and expirience they should be protecting better than they are. Texas's D is that good too but even against the Toledo's and UNLV's they have had their lapses. Might be part of the reason our passing game struggles because Meyer has to roll out of the pocket more than he should due to poor protection.

dudeluv

Mar 26, 2006
Sioux City Iowa