Keto

AgronAlum

Jul 12, 2014
My wife and I are about to start keto and it’s long overdue. I’m 6’6”, was 190 when I graduated high school, and have ended up hovering the 280-290 range for years now. Im hoping to settle in the 240ish range but don’t really have a target weight. Just to feel healthy again.

Anyone have any good resources? My wife picked up a beginners guide on amazon but the recipes seem really involved for every day type of meals. I know what I’m getting into with the diet itself, so not looking to debate the pros and cons. I’m basically eliminating the foods I have allergies to like most fruit and grains. I haven’t eaten fruit in years but have had a hard time giving up grains even though I feel like **** afterwords.

benman82

Nov 17, 2009
The first few days are unpleasant until you get into it, but it got easier for me around day 4 and I eased into it by not trying to limit calories at the start. Tracking what I ate was pretty helpful, and there's a bunch of phone apps for that - I think I used myfitnesspal. The ketone pee sticks are worth trying out to make sure you're actually in ketosis.

The hardest part for me was convincing myself to get back into it after a cheat day, so maybe don't bother cheating unless you're sure you want to give up completely.

I enjoyed using almond flour and eggs to make pancakes, and then using those pancakes as a bread substitute. It was just as simple as making normal pancakes. I know cyclone fans are still hating on busch light, but it only has 3.2g carbs per can so you could have a few without breaking ketosis!

• Agree
Reactions: g4ce

AgronAlum

Jul 12, 2014
The first few days are unpleasant until you get into it, but it got easier for me around day 4 and I eased into it by not trying to limit calories at the start. Tracking what I ate was pretty helpful, and there's a bunch of phone apps for that - I think I used myfitnesspal. The ketone pee sticks are worth trying out to make sure you're actually in ketosis.