How to choose a fraternity

Cyclone711

Oct 27, 2007
Minnesota
So I'm an incoming freshman and am strongly looking at greek life (dad was a greek at ISU and my brother currently is at Minnesota). I know the biggest thing is if you get along with the guys in the frat, but what are some other good things to look at (am currently looking at four and really have no idea how to narrow it down). I am planning another trip to ames to do some frat tours but would appreciate any advice.

HILLCYD

Nov 22, 2006
I can't wait for all the "clever" posts that will soon be in this thread.

The key is obviously the people. I rushed several places and once I hit the house I ended up joining it was a no-brainer. The guys there were great and I hit it off with several of them right off the bat. If you feel nervous or uneasy during the process, it isn't the right house for you.

Good luck.

bigB

May 30, 2008
So I'm an incoming freshman and am strongly looking at greek life (dad was a greek at ISU and my brother currently is at Minnesota). I know the biggest thing is if you get along with the guys in the frat, but what are some other good things to look at (am currently looking at four and really have no idea how to narrow it down). I am planning another trip to ames to do some frat tours but would appreciate any advice.

Depends...does your father's house still exist? If so, it can't hurt to give it a look...kinda nice to be a legacy. Is there a chapter of your bro's frat at ISU...might be a good place to look as well.

BryceC

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 23, 2006
I joined a frat before my freshman year, and I was lucky enough to live close to Ames so I got to visit frequently. My best advice would be to spend as much time as possible with as many of the guys as you can in the house.

As for "buying" my friends the house I lived in my Frosh year was cheaper than the dorms so take that for what it's worth.

BryceC

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 23, 2006