College Savings Iowa

thisISnextyear

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 29, 2007
Ames
Anyone use this or have any suggestions on other options??? Looking for any and all info you can provide... Thanks!

tccoach

Apr 22, 2006
Iowa
I have two 529 plans for each of my boys from College Savings Iowa. I have been contributing monthly for 3 years and have just in the last couple of months since the upswing in the market seen my balance actually show a positive investment...but if you have several years until your kids will be in college, I would guess and hope that it will be a fairly safe and somewhat profitable way to save for college. Remember that with 529 plans the money has to be used for college expenses, so in other words if they don't go to college there is a substantial penalty to just withdraw the money. The money can be transferred from one child to another though at no cost.

MBulldog

Dec 19, 2009
Johnston
We've been using College Savings Iowa with Upromise for our kids for a few years now. We have no complaints, except for the lousy rate of return.

sclotz

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Apr 10, 2006
Question, why not just save the $ and then have the flexibility of using it nationwide or if necessary non-educational expenses? Is the $ matched by employers or the state?

thisISnextyear

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 29, 2007
Ames
Question, why not just save the $ and then have the flexibility of using it nationwide or if necessary non-educational expenses? Is the $ matched by employers or the state?

I'm just beginning to get through all the details but the tax benefits are the biggest benefit...

im4isu

Apr 11, 2007
New Haven