Jury Duty

cycloneworld

Facebook Knows All
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 20, 2006
Urbandale, IA
I’m sitting in the courthouse waiting, waiting, waiting for something to happen after checking in for jury duty this morning. This is my first time ever having to report so no idea what to expect. I’m swamped at work so I’m hoping not to get picked. But also intrigued by the idea of sitting on a criminal trial.

Anyone have any good stories or sat on any significant trials as a juror?

Reactions: agentbear

GMackey32

TJ's spy team member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Nov 2, 2009
Ames Via Cedar Falls
I've been summoned starting next week. There's selection for a trial involving a guy killing a state trooper happening. I want to get picked for it because I think it'd be cool since I never sat on a jury before. I'm assuming I'll get selected for something dumb though.

cyclonedave25

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jul 10, 2007
Chicago, IL
If you really don’t want to be there and get selected, you can tell the judge you don’t want to be there and are swamped at work and most times they will move onto somebody else. (At least that works in Chicago).

Cyclones_R_GR8

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Feb 10, 2007
Omaha
Jury duty involves a lot of sitting around prior to any trial. If I remember correctly, first they will pick a group of 12 at random and then a few alternates. Then they start asking questions to try to eliminate jurors. If they eliminate one immediately then they leave and one of the alternates moves up to the group of 12.
Then the lawyers decided on the 12 and everyone else is sent home.
I've only sat on an actual jury once. 2 1/2 days for a burglary trial.

I was scheduled for Federal Jury duty starting in Feb of 2020. COVID stopped that.

Last edited:
Reactions: khardbored

norsemen

Apr 13, 2006