Women's Basketball

Four Cyclones headed to the finals at Big 12 Championships

The Cyclones will be walking into day two of the Big 12 Championships in second place and with four grapplers in the finals.

Here is what you can expect tomorrow:

The day will start with consolation matches which are as follows:

149: No. 13 Jarrett Degen vs. Greg Gaxiola (Fresno State)
165: Chase Straw vs. Cole Moody (Wyoming)
174: No. 11 Sam Colbray vs. #13 Kimball Bastian (Utah Valley)
184: #28 Marcus Coleman vs. No. 12 Anthony Montalvo (OSU)

In these matches everyone has a chance to punch their ticket to nationals win or lose except Straw. He’ll have to make sure to win his match to earn his spot due to the fact that 165 pounds only has four allocations for the Big 12.

Finals Match-Ups :

125 No. 14 Alex Mackall vs. No. 4 Nick Piccicinni (Oklahoma State)
141: No. 9 Ian Parker vs. No. 5 Dom Demas (Oklahoma)
157: No. 3 David Carr vs. No. 11 Wyatt Sheets (Oklahoma State)
285: Gannon Gremmel vs. No.17 Brian Andrews (Wyoming)

As a team, Iowa State is currently in second place with 95.0 team points.

A full breakdown of team standings is as follows:
1. Oklahoma State – 111.5
2. Iowa State – 92
3. UNI – 90.5
4. South Dakota State – 83.5
5. North Dakota State – 74.5
6. Oklahoma – 65.5
7. Wyoming – 65
8. Northern Colorado – 60
9. Fresno State – 47.5
10. West Virginia – 35
11. Utah Valley – 29.5
12. Air Force – 21

Tomorrow’s race for the Big 12 title will be interesting because both Iowa State and Oklahoma State will have four wrestlers in the final, two of which are head-to-head. They will also have head-to-head consolation semifinal matches in the morning.

Tomorrow’s action will begin at 11 a.m. on ESPN+. The finals will be on Fox Sports. Check your local listings.

Iowa State Match-by-Match
125: No. 3 Alex Mackall dec. No. 6 Danny Vega (SDSU), 13-6.
No. 3 Alex Mackall dec. Cody Phippen (Air Force), 7-3.

133: Zach Price (SDSU) dec. No. 5 Todd Small, 11-10.
No. 7 Jack Skudlarczyk (UNI) dec. No. 5 Todd Small), 10-7.
No. 5 Todd Small maj. dec. Jared Van Vleet (Air Force), 11-3.

141: No. 2 Ian Parker dec. Dylan Droegemueller (NDSU), 7-2.
No. 2 Ian Parker dec. No. 7 Clay Carlson (SDSU), 8-4.
No. 2 Ian Parker dec. No. 3 Michael Blockhus (UNI), 4-0.

149: No. 4 Jarrett Degen dec. No. 5 Andrew Alirez (UNC), 4-3.
No. 1 Boo Lewallen (Oklahoma State) pinned No. 4 Jarrett Degen, 6:17.

157: No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 8 Dewey Krueger (Wyoming), 11-5.
No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 4 Justin Thomas (Oklahoma), 4-1.

165: No. 6 Chase Straw dec. Jordan Robinson (UNC), 7-4.
No. 2 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) maj. dec. No. 6 Chase Straw, 15-2.

174: No. 3 Sam Colbray dec. No. 6 Hayden Hastings (Wyoming), 3-2.
No. 2 Anthony Mantanona (Oklahoma) dec. No. 3 Sam Colbray, 6-5.

184: No. 5 Marcus Coleman dec. No. 4 Alan Clothier (UNC), 4-3.
No. 1 Taylor Lujan dec. No. 5 Marcus Coleman, 4-0.

197: No. 2 Tanner Sloan (SDSU) maj. dec. Joel Shapiro, 9-0.
No. 5 Dakota Geer (Oklahoma State) dec. Joel Shapiro, 13-7.

285: No. 2 Gannon Gremmel dec. Josiah Jones (Oklahoma), 4-1.
No. 2 Gannon Gremmel dec. No. 7 Brandon Metz (NDSU), 3-0.
No. 2 Gannon Gremmel dec. No. 6 Dalton Robertson (UNC), 10-3.

Jacqueline Cordova


Jacqueline graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in Journalism and Mass Communications. She has been fortunate enough to have interned for Cyclone Fanatic for 2 and a half years before being promoted to stay on. She currently wears a lot of hats at Cyclone Fanatic: Social Media Director, Iowa State Wrestling beat reporter, and staff photographer. Jacqueline loves reading and watching trash reality TV shows when she's not watching sports. One of her favorite accomplishments is having interned for the Minnesota Vikings and during Super Bowl LII.