Iowa State announces football award winners for 2018 season

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State football team honored its top achievers at its annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Sukup End Zone Club.

The Cyclones recorded their second-straight 8-5 season and played in the Valero Alamo Bowl in 2018, setting many records along the way.

Iowa State defeated two top-25 teams, was ranked in all six College Football Playoff polls, won its final six home games and broke the school for conference wins in a season (6-3), tying for third in the Big 12, its highest league finish in 40 years.

All-Americans David Montgomery (RB) and Brian Peavy (CB) were co-winners of the Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player Award, as the co-captains were instrumental in the teams’ success in 2018.

Montgomery was an All-American by Pro Football Focus and rushed for over 1,000 yards for the second-straight season in 2018. He ranked third in the Big 12 and 23rdnationally in rushing yards per game (101.3), recording seven 100-yard rushing games to tie for third on ISU’s season list.

Montgomery, who became the fourth player in school history to earn All-America honors multiple times, ended his outstanding Cyclone career sixth in career rushing (2,925) and eighth in career rushing touchdowns (26) in the ISU record book.

Peavy, a two-time team captain and four-time All-Big 12 selection, was the Cyclones’ heart and soul on defense. The four-year starter who accumulated 47 career starts, had 57 tackles, an interception and led the team forced fumbles (3) in 2018.

Peavy earned All-America honors by Pro Football Focus and became the first player in school history to earn a victory against every league opponent throughout a four-year career. He ended his career with 289 tackles, six interceptions and six forced fumbles.

All-American wide receiver Hakeem Butler won the Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player Award after recording the finest individual season by a wideout in Cyclone history.

Butler broke or matched season school records in receiving yards (1,318), yards per reception (22.0) and 100-yard receiving games (6). He ranked third nationally in yards per reception (22.0) and ninth in the nation in yards per game (101.4).

Butler, who also had nine touchdown catches, one shy from the school mark, accounted for 10 of ISU’s 14 plays from scrimmage of 40 or more yards. He ended his career with a 192-yard performance vs. Washington State in the Valero Alamo Bowl, the most receiving yards by a Cyclone in a bowl game.

Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year Greg Eisworth won the Al & Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player Award.

The sophomore safety was outstanding in his first season with the Cyclones, leading the team in tackles (87) in 12 games played. He was a First-Team All-Big 12 recipient.

Eisworth led the team in tackles in five of 12 game played, including two double-digit tackle efforts.

The Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer Award went to Brock Purdy (QB), Mike Rose (LB) and Zach Petersen (ST-LB).

2018 Iowa State Football Awards

Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player: David Montgomery and Brian Peavy

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Will McDonald

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Robert Hudson

Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Tory Spears

Academic Award: Spencer Benton

Ennis Haywood Consideration Award: Will Windham

Ruben J. Miller Award: Conner Greene

Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomers of the Year: Brock Purdy, Mike Rose and Zach Petersen

Outstanding Walk-On Player: Collin Olson, Braxton Lewis and Connor Assalley

Bill Dailey Unsung Hero Award: Sam Seonbuchner, D’Andre Payne, Spencer Benton and Reggan Northrup

Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player: Hakeem Butler

Al and Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player: Greg Eisworth

Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Ray Lima and JaQuan Bailey

Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Josh Knipfel

Jim Doran Outstanding Special Teams Player: Dylan Soehner

Ralph Aulmann Memorial Captain Award: Kyle Kempt, David Montgomery, Brian Peavy and Ray Lima