Lanning and Lazard share MVP honors at ISU football banquet

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State Athletic Communications.

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State football team held its awards banquet Sunday afternoon at Hilton Coliseum to honor the 2017 AutoZone Liberty Bowl champions.

The Cyclones finished the season at 8-5 and tied for fourth in the Big 12 Conference (5-4), breaking school records for wins over top-25 opponents (3) and victories on the road (5).

Seniors Allen Lazard and Joel Lanning were co-winners of the Pete Taylor Most Valuable Award, as the two Cyclone icons were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments to the program.

Lazard, who was also the 2016 winner of the Pete Taylor MVP Award, earned First-Team All-Big 12 honors at wide receiver for the second season in a row in 2017. He led the team in receptions (71), receiving yards (941) and TD catches (10), eclipsing the school record for TD receptions in a season.

Lazard, who was named the MVP of the Liberty Bowl with 10 catches for 142 yards and a TD, is ISU’s career leader in receptions (241), receiving yards (3,360), 100-yard receiving games (12) and consecutive games with a catch (48).

Lanning’s 2017 season will go down as one of the greatest in school history. The versatile co-captain played over 1,000 snaps on offense, defense and special teams, earning All-America honors by the FWAA and Sports Illustrated.

Lanning led the team in tackles (114), was second in sacks (6.0) and third in TFL (11.0) in his first season playing linebacker. He continued to help the Cyclone on offense in spot-duty at quarterback, ranking third on the team in rushing (135) and fourth in passing (47).

Sophomore running back David Montgomery won the Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player Award after becoming just the 14th player in school history to crack the 1,000-yard barrier.

Montgomery was an unanimous First-Team All-Big 12 selection and earned All-America honors from Pro Football Focus after leading the nation in forced missed tackles (109). Montgomery had six 100-yard rushing games and was third in the Big 12 in rushing TDs with 11.

Sophomore Marcel Spears (LB) and junior Brian Peavy (CB) shared the Al & Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player Award. Spears, who was an honorable mention All-Big 12 selection, was second on the team in tackles (8.2) and sealed two victories (Texas Tech, TCU) with fourth quarter interceptions.

Peavy was one of the best corners in the Big 12, earning Second-Team All-Big 12 accolades. A three-time All-Big 12 recipient, Peavy led the team in takeaways (2 interceptions, 2 fumble recoveries) and was third on the team in tackles (88).

The Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer Award went to Josh Knipfel (OL), Ray Lima (DL) and Garrett Owens (PK).

2017 Iowa State Football Awards
Pete Taylor Most Valuable Player: Allen Lazard and Joel Lanning
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Rory Walling
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Colin Newell
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Zach Silbermann
Academic Award: Marchie Murdock
Ennis Haywood Consideration Award: Jake Campos
Ruben J. Miller Award: Bryan Larson
Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomers of the Year: Josh Knipfel, Ray Lima, Garrett Owens
Outstanding Walk-On Player: Kyle Kempt
Bill Dailey Unsung Hero Award: Trever Ryen and Vernell Trent
Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player: David Montgomery
Al and Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player: Marcel Spears and Brian Peavy
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Defensive Lineman: J.D. Waggoner
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Julian Good-Jones
Jim Doran Outstanding Special Teams Player: Jack Spreen
Ralph Aulmann Memorial Captain Award: Allen Lazard, Joel Lanning, Brian Peavy, Jake Campos, Kamari Cotton-Moya

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.

Recent Posts