• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher


Each day leading up to Iowa State’s season opener against South Dakota State, Cyclone Fanatic will check another day off the calendar with a memorable statistic, player or game as part of our Countdown to Kickoff presented by Tailgate Clothing.

There is one major difference between the two seasons in which Iowa State football has rushed for 30 touchdowns, the single-season program record.

When Iowa State’s 1989 squad accomplished the feat, the majority of the scores were attributed to Blaise Bryant. Bryant scored 19 touchdowns, a single-season program record at the time, to lead a squad that finished the season 6-5, all while sporting one of the all-time great high-top fades.

The Cyclones’ 11 other rushing touchdowns that season was spread between four players with quarterback Bret Oberg’s five coming in as the second most on the team.

But, the 2002 team, was not quite so heavily reliant on one person and was very balanced on the ground. A total of six Cyclones scored touchdowns on the ground for one of the best offenses in school history, unsurprisingly led by Seneca Wallace’s eight rushing touchdowns.

Michael Wagner scored seven rushing touchdowns. Hiawatha Rutland ran for six of his own. Brian Thompson added four rushing scores while Lane Danielsen had three and Joe Woodley rounded out the group with two.

The 30 rushing touchdowns by the 1989 and 2002 squads remain the single-season program record and there is no doubting they reached the mark in exponentially different ways.

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.