Joel Lanning accepts East-West Shrine Game invite

Sep 16, 2017; Akron, OH, USA; Iowa State Cyclones linebacker Joel Lanning (7) returns an interception in the third quarter in a game against the Akron Zips at InfoCision Stadium. Mandatory Credit: David Dermer-USA TODAY Sports

**The following is a news release from Iowa State Athletics Communications: 

AMES – Iowa State senior linebacker/quarterback Joel Lanning has accepted an invitation to participate in the East-West Shrine Game, Jan. 20th in St. Petersburg, Fla.

The NFL Network will broadcast the game.

The East-West Shrine Game is one of the oldest college football all-star games, held annually since 1925.

A true three-way player, Lanning is one of four finalists for the Paul Hornung Award, given each season to the nation’s most versatile college football player.

The two-time team captain switched to linebacker prior to the 2017 season after spending his first four years in Ames as a quarterback.

His transition has been remarkable, leading the Cyclone defense, which ranks 31st nationally in scoring defense (21.1), at the Mike linebacker spot.

Lanning currently ranks 18th nationally in tackles per game (9.4), registering a team-high four double-digit tackle performances, including a career-high 20 stops vs. Texas. His 20 tackles vs. Texas ranks ninth in school history and ties for fourth among FBS players this season.

Lanning also has 8.0 TFL, 4.0 sacks, an interception and a fumble recovery on the season.

Lanning’s versatility has been a huge reason the Cyclones are bowl-eligible (7-4 overall, 5-3 Big 12) for the first time since 2012 and appeared in the AP top-25 for the first time since 2005.

He ranks second on the team in rushing (106 yards) and fourth in passing (47 yards) in his spot duty at quarterback. He is 4-of-4 on fourth-down conversion rushes and 4-of-4 on 3rd-down conversion carries.

A native of Ankeny, Iowa, Lanning is the first FBS player since 2006 (Eric Weddle, Utah) to record a sack, interception, fumble recovery, rushing TD and passing TD in a season.

Iowa State East-West Shrine Game Participants
1939        Ed Bock
Chuck Heileman
1951        Jim Doran
Bill Weeks
1952        Stan Campbell
1961        Tom Watkins
1964        Tom Vaughn
1965        Dick Kasperek
1966        Tim Van Galder
1972        George Amundson
1973        Matt Blair
1974        Tom Goedjen
Barry Hill
1980        Dick Cuvelier
1983        Chris Boskey
Karl Nelson
1988        Joe Henderson
1989        Mike Busch
Keith Sims
1990        Blaise Bryant
Jeff Shudak
2001        Kevin DeRonde
Ennis Haywood
2002        Zach Butler
2006        Stevie Hicks
2007        Todd Blythe
Alvin Bowen
Athyba Rubin
2009        Reggie Stephens
2010        David Sims
A.J. Klein
2017       Joel Lanning


Rob Gray


Rob, an Ames native, joined Cyclone Fanatic in August, 2014 after nearly a decade and a half of working at Iowa's two largest newspapers. He spent 10 years at the Des Moines Register and, after a brief stint in public relations, joined the Cedar Rapids Gazette as an Iowa State correspondent three years ago. Rob specializes in feature stories for CF.