Royce White tabbed Big 12 Preseason Newcomer of the Year

By Chris Williams, Publisher

The Big 12’s coaches have voted Iowa State’s Royce White as the league’s Preseason Newcomer of the Year.

White, along with fellow newcomer Chris Allen, were voted "honorable mention" for the Preseason All Big 12 Team

The Big 12 announced its individual preseason honors on Thursday afternoon.

Below are other awards that were handed out on Thursday.

Preseason Player of the Year
Perry Jones III, Baylor, F, 6-11, 235, So., Duncanville, Texas/Duncanville

Preseason Newcomer of the Year
Royce White, Iowa State, F, 6-8, 270, So., Minneapolis, Minn./Hopkins/University of Minnesota

Preseason Freshman of the Year
LeBryan Nash, Oklahoma State, G/F, 6-7, 230, Fr., Dallas, Texas/Lincoln

2011-12 Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Name, School Pos. Ht. Wt. Class Hometown/Previou School(s)
Perry Jones III, Baylor** F 6-11 235 So. Duncanville, Texas/Duncanville
Thomas Robinson, Kansas** F 6-9 237 Jr. Washington, D.C./Brewster Academy [N.H.]
Marcus Denmon, Missouri G 6-3 185 Sr. Kansas City, Mo./Hogan Prep
J’Covan Brown, Texas G 6-1 197 Jr. Port Arthur, Texas/Memorial
Khris Middleton, Texas A&M** F 6-7 210 Jr. North Charleston, S.C./Porter-Gaud

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school): Quincy Acy, Baylor; Chris Allen & Royce White, Iowa State; Tyshawn Taylor, Kansas; Laurence Bowers & Ricardo Ratliffe, Missouri; LeBryan Nash, Oklahoma State