Iowa State names Beau Freyler and Stevo Klotz as recipients of the Nick Bassett Perseverance Award

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletics Communications:

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State head football coach Matt Campbell announced Thursday that seniors Beau Freyler and Stevo Klotz are this season’s recipients of the Nick Bassett Perseverance Award.

Nick Bassett was a supporter, fan and friend not only to the Cyclone Football program, but to the entire Iowa State community. He had various health struggles from age two until he passed away in January of 2022 at 29 years old.

Nick served as an inspiration to everyone he met. His continued positive spirit, attitude toward adversity of all kinds, ability to persevere through challenges he faced and continued support and love for those he cared about provided an illustration all people can learn from – both in the Iowa State community and around the world. Nick’s life and legacy continues to impact Iowa State’s players, staff, fans and the entire program in tremendous ways.ADVERTISING

The award recognizes two football players annually at the conclusion of spring football practice each season. The players that earn the honor are selected based on exemplifying the characteristics of that we remember Nick by: positive spirit, perseverance and selflessness.

Freyler is a senior from Colorado Springs, Colorado, while Klotz is a redshirt senior from Chaska, Minnesota. The pair will wear a Nick Bassett Perseverance Award decal on the back of their helmets next season.


Nick Bassett Perseverance Award Recipients
2022 – Zach Ross, Tayvonn Kyle
2023 – Jake RemsburgGerry Vaughn
2024 – Beau FreylerStevo Klotz