Women's Basketball

WBB: Ashley Joens wins Cheryl Miller Award for second straight year

For the second year in a row, Iowa State power forward Ashley Joens has been announced as the winner for the Cheryl Miller Award – given out annually to the nation’s best player at the position.

Joens averaged 20.3 points and 9.5 rebounds per game during the year, while helping her team to its first Sweet 16 birth since 2010.

The award was introduced for the 2017-18 season as part of a set of awards called, ‘The Naismith Starting Five.’

It marks the third time in the past four seasons that an Iowa State player has won the award, going back to Bridget Carleton’s senior year at the school.

Joens will be back for her final remaining year of eligibility for the 2022-23 season which begins in November.

Cheryl Miller Award History
2017-18 | Gabby Williams, UConn
2018-19 | Bridget Carleton, Iowa State
2019-20 | Satou Sabally, Oregon
2020-21 | Ashley Joens, Iowa State
2021-22 | Ashley Joens, Iowa State