Six former Cyclones inducted into ISU Letterwinners Hall of Fame

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletics.

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State Letterwinners Club unveiled the Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2022 today. Six former Cyclone stars will be inducted into the Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday Sept. 23 in a ceremony at the Sukup End Zone Club in Ames.

All six inductees will be honored at halftime of the Iowa State-Baylor game on Saturday Sept. 24.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, athletes must be 10 years removed from their final season of competition at Iowa State.

Registration to purchase tickets for the banquet will open at a later date on

Public tickets are $50 and athletic alumni are encouraged to join us for the entire weekend with reunion benefits.

The Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 1997 with a yearly class of inductees except for 2021 due to COVID-19 restrictions. A total of 199 Cyclone legends have been bestowed the highest honor by the Iowa State Athletics Department via a selection committee comprised of Iowa State administrators and athletic alumni.

Reggie Hayward (1997-2000) – Football

  • Three-time All-Big 12 defensive end (1998-2000)
  • Second Team All-Big 12 (2000)
  • Defensive MVP of the Bowl (2000)
  • Defensive MVP of the Hula Bowl (2000)
  • Fifth-most sacks in school history (16.5)
  • Third round NFL Draft pick in 2001
  • Played nine NFL seasons (2001-09)
  • Led the Denver Broncos in sacks (10.5) in 2004

Joe Heskett (1999-2002) – Wrestling

  • One of 11 four-time All-Americans (1999-2002) in school history
  • Three-time NCAA finalist at 165 pounds (2000-02)
  • NCAA champion at 165 pounds (2002)
  • 143 career wins ranks third in school history (143-10; 93.5 winning pct.)
  • Three-time Big 12 champion (1999, 2001-02)
  • Three-time Midlands champion
  • Four-time NWCA Scholar-Athlete
  • Five-time U.S. National Team member
  • U.S. World Team member (2007)
  • Won Silver Medal at 2007 Pan American Games
  • Inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame (2013)

Alison Lacey (2007-10) – Women’s Basketball

  • Honorable Mention All-American – AP, WBCA (2010)
  • Three-time All-Big 12 selection (2008-10)
  • First Team All-Big 12 (2010)
  • First Team All-Region- WBCA (2010)
  • Led Cyclones to NCAA Elite Eight (2009)
  • Played on four NCAA Tournament Teams (2007-10)
  • Only player in school history with 1,500 Points, 500 Rebounds and 500 Assists
  • Highest WNBA Draft pick in Iowa State history- No. 10 (2010)
  • Won 2010 WNBA Championship with Seattle Storm

Ashley Mass (2007-10) – Volleyball

  • Three-time AVCA All-American (2008-10)
  • First Team All-American by the AVCA (2009)
  • Two-time First Team All-Big 12 (2009-10)
  • Three-time Big 12 Libero of the Year (2008-10)
  • Two-time AVCA All-Central Region First Team (2008-09)
  • Led ISU to four NCAA Championships, two Sweet Sixteens and one Elite Eight appearance
  • Iowa State’s and Big 12’s career leader in digs with 2,294
  • Tied School Record for most career matches played with 129
  • Led the Big 12 in digs in 2008 and 2009.
  • Set ISU’s season school mark in digs with 646 (2008)
  • U.S. National A2 Participant (2010)

Dean Uthoff (1977-1980) – Men’s Basketball

  • Iowa State’s and the Big Eight’s all-time leading rebounder (1,233)
  • First-Team All-Big Eight (1978)
  • Honorable Mention AP All-American (1978)
  • UPI 25-Man All-American (1978)
  • Led the Big Eight in rebounding all four years (1977-80)
  • One of three players in ISU history with 1,000 points/1,000 rebounds
  • First rookie in Big Eight history to record 300 points/300 rebounds (1976-77)
  • Sixth-round NBA Draft pick (1980)
  • Dominate player in Australia’s NBL (1983-96)
  • Four-time NBL All-Star (1988, 1989-91)
  • Led the NBL in rebounding three times
  • Holds NBL record for rebounding in a season at 18.5 (1984)
  • Holds NBL record for rebounds in a game with 34

Bill Weeks (1948-50) – Football

  • Two-time First Team All-Big Seven quarterback (1949, 1950)
  • Led the Big Seven in passing twice (1949, 1950)
  • Set a Big Seven mark and ranked third nationally in passing in 1950
  • Owned all of ISU’s passing marks after graduation that stood for 16 years
  • Led 1949 Cyclones to a 5-3-1 record
  • Iowa State Athlete of the Year (1950)
  • Played in the East-West Shrine Game and Hula Bowl (1950)
  • Drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles in 1951 NFL Draft
  • Assistant coach at Iowa State (1952-53)
  • Head coach at New Mexico for eight seasons (1960-67)
  • Won three Western Athletic Conference titles (1962-64)
  • Member of New Mexico Athletics and New Mexico Sports Halls of Fame

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.