• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

Iowa State’s Hall of Fame Class of 2017

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State Letterwinners Club announced today Iowa State’s Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2017. Seven former Cyclone stars will be inducted into the Iowa State Hall of Fame on Sept. 29 in a special ceremony at the Sukup End Zone Club in Ames. Iowa State will honor the inductees at halftime of the Iowa State-Texas football game on Thursday Sept. 28.

Registration for the event will open at a later date.

The Iowa State Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and 175 Cyclone legends have been enshrined.

2017 Iowa State Hall of Fame Inductees

Victor Alexander- Men’s Basketball

· Three-time All-Big Eight pick (1989-91), earning first team honors twice
· ISU career leader in field goal percentage (61.1 pct.)
· Fifth-best scorer in school history (1,892 points)
· Owns Big Eight mark for field goal percentage in a season (65.9 pct.)
· Earned Gold Medal at the 1989 World University Games
· Member of Iowa State’s All-Century Team
· First round pick in the 1991 NBA Draft (No. 17 overall)
· Played five seasons in the NBA

Dwayne Crutchfield- Football

· Second Team All-American by the UPI in 1980
· Big Eight Offensive Newcomer of the Year (1980)
· Two-time First-Team All-Big Eight (1980 & 1981)
· Led the Big Eight in rushing twice (1980 & 1981)
· Rushed for 2,501 yards in two seasons
· Third round pick of the 1982 NFL Draft
· Played three seasons in the NFL (1982-84)

Ike Hayes- Football

· All-American guard in 1935
· Two-time First-Team All-Big Six (1934 and 1935)
· Helped lead team to 5-3-1 record and historic upset over Iowa in 1934
· Voted team captain in 1935
· Named “Most Representative Man” in his class at Iowa State
· Earned his DVM and became a prominent veterinarian
· Older brother of legendary football coach Woody Hayes

Geary Murdock- Football

· All-American offensive lineman (1972)
· First-Team All-Big Eight (1972)
· Starter on two Bowl teams (1971 & 1972)
· Two-time NCAA qualifier as a heavyweight in wrestling
· Played in the Lion’s All-America Bowl (1972)
· Drafted by the Minnesota Vikings in 1973
· Played three seasons in the CFL from 1974-77

Cael Sanderson- Wrestling

· First and only NCAA D-I wrestler with a perfect four-year record (159-0)
· Four-time NCAA champion (1999-2002, 184-197 pounds)
· Four-time Most Outstanding Wrestler at NCAA Championship (1999-2002)
· Three-time winner of the Dan Hodge Trophy (2000-02)
· Big 12 Male Athlete of the Year (2002)
· Gold Medalist (84kg) at 2004 Olympics
· NWCA and Big 12 Coach of the Year (2007)

Lee-Jay Strifler- Men’s Swimming and Diving

· Two-time All-American diver (1989-90)
· Three-time NCAA qualifier (1988-90)
· Four-time Big Eight champion (1988-90)
· Broke Big Eight three-meter diving mark in 1990 (643.75)
· Named Outstanding Performer at the 1990 Big Eight Championships
· Finished fifth in the three-meter Canadian Olympic Trials (1988)
· Eight-time Canadian national champion

Angie Welle- Women’s Basketball

· Iowa State’s all-time leading scorer (2,149) and rebounder (1,209)
· Three-time All-American (2000-02), including second-team honors by the AP in 2002
· Four-time All-Big 12 pick (1999-2002), including first-team honors in 2001 and 2002
· CoSIDA Academic All-American (2002)
· Three-time Big 12 All-Tournament team (2000-02), including MVP in 2001
· Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year (2002)
· Had her No. 32 jersey retired in 2010