• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher


Each day leading up to Iowa State’s season opener against South Dakota State, Cyclone Fanatic will check another day off the calendar with a memorable statistic, player or game as part of our Countdown to Kickoff presented by Tailgate Clothing.



Last season when Matt Campbell was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year, it was the sixth time an Iowa State head coach earned the distinction. Campbell earned the honor by leading the program to a breakout 8-5 season with two wins over top-five times, which is not much different from the school’s first honor.

Johnny Majors became the first Iowa State head coach named conference coach of the year when he did so in 1971 after leading the Cyclones to an 8-4 record and the school’s first bowl game. Five years later, his successor, Earle Bruce, won the award following an 8-3 campaign and helping the Cyclones climb as high as No. 14 in the AP Poll.

Bruce earned the honor again the following season with an 8-4 record, a tie for second place in the Big Eight and a birth in the Peach Bowl.

It was 24 years before an Iowa State coach won the honor again when Dan McCarney led the Cyclones to a 7-5 record and a birth in the Independence Bowl in 2001. He was given the honor again three years later following another 7-5 finishing, a tie for first place in the Big 12 North and a win over Miami (OH) in the Independence Bowl.

If Iowa State can live up to expectations in 2018, it would not be shocking to see Campbell become the program’s second back-to-back winner of the conference coach of the year award.

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.