Olympic Sports

Wrestling: Cyclones improve to 3-0

EAST LANSING, Mich. – The Iowa State wrestling team (4-0, 0-0 Big 12) closed out its Michigan road trip with a 22-9 victory over Michigan State (2-2, 0-1 Big Ten). The Cyclones won seven of the 10 matches this afternoon, including a spurt of six in a row.

The dual got off to a rocky start with losses at 133 and 141, as No. 12 Earl Hall lost a 5-3 decision to MSU’s No. 16 Javier Gasca and John Meeks dropped an 11-8 battle to Garth Yenter.

Gabe Moreno got the Iowa State scoring going at 149, picking up three takedowns in an 8-5 decision over Nick Trimble. Following Moreno at 149, Luke Goettl got the win over Roger Wildmo, 7-3.

Two-time All-American and No. 3-ranked Michael Moreno scored on two takedowns en route to his 5-2 win over MSU’s Ryan Watts.

Following the intermission at Jenison Field House, No. 6 Tanner Weatherman scored bonus points for the Cyclones, picking up an 8-0 maj. dec. over Nick Proctor. The Huxley, Iowa, native had 3:26 of riding time in the match at 174. Weatherman has earned bonus points in each of his four dual matches this season.

The string of six Iowa State victories was polished off by No. 3 Kyven Gadson and No. 18 Lelund Weatherspoon. Weatherspoon got the dec. 10-3 over John Rizqallah at 184 behind a three takedown effort. Gadson also added three takedowns in his match, getting the 8-3 decision with 2:47 of riding time over Nick McDiarmid.

At 125, Kyle Larson closed out the dual with a 6-4 dec. over Mitch Rogaliner.

Iowa State returns to the mat on Nov. 29, when it heads to Iowa City to take on No. 1-ranked Iowa.

Iowa State – Michigan State Match-by-Match

125: Kyle Larson (ISU) dec. Mitch Rogaliner (MSU), 6-4.
133: No. 16 Javier Gasca (MSU) dec. No. 12 Earl Hall (ISU), 5-3.
141: Garth Yenter (MSU) dec. John Meeks (ISU), 11-8.
149: Gabe Moreno (ISU) dec. Nick Trimble (MSU), 8-5.
157: Luke Goettl (ISU) dec. Roger Wildmo (MSU), 7-3.
165: No. 3 Michael Moreno (ISU) dec. Ryan Watts (MSU), 5-2.
174: No. 6 Tanner Weatherman (ISU) maj. dec. Nick Proctor (MSU), 8-0.
184: No. 18 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) dec. John Rizqallah (MSU), 10-3.
197: No. 3 Kyven Gadson (ISU) dec. Nick McDiarmid (MSU), 8-3.
285: Luke Jones (MSU) dec. Quean Smith (ISU), 7-3.


Cyclone Fanatic