Olympic Sports

Cyclones Earn First Road Win; Improve To 5-0

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

NORFOLK, Va. – The Iowa State wrestling team (5-0 overall, 1-0 Big 12) won the final two matches of the day to defeat Old Dominion (2-2 overall, 0-0 MAC) 20-15 at the Ted Constant Convocation Center.

The Cyclones trailed 15-12 heading into the final two bouts at 165 and 174 pounds. A tech fall from All-American Michael Moreno and a 6-2 win by redshirt freshman Lelund Weatherspoon sealed the dual win for the team.

Moreno took a commanding 12-4 lead heading into the final period where he would score a quick reversal and three more takedowns en route to his five-point tech fall for the Cyclones. Moreno, who has excelled in the top position this season, racked up 3:41 seconds of riding time in the match.

Weatherspoon improved his record to 10-1 overall on the season with his win in the final bout of the afternoon. The Jackson, Mich., native rode ODU’s Billy Curling for the entire third period. Weatherspoon’s 10 wins lead the 2013-14 Cyclones.

At 125 pounds, sophomore Earl Hall got a crucial pin in the final period with 54 seconds remaining in the match to give ISU six team points. Hall improved his overall record to 7-1 on the season and 2-0 in duals.

All-American Kyven Gadson scored his 19th straight dual win dating back to Nov. 23, 2012 with a 5-1 decision over ODU’s Jake Anderson. Gadson tallied 2:23 seconds of riding time in the match. The Waterloo, Iowa, native is now 7-1 overall and 4-0 in dual competition.

No. 10 Tanner Weatherman wrestled his first career dual match at 184 pounds. The Huxley, Iowa native defeated OSU’s Austin Coburn 7-2 with 3:28 of riding time. Weatherman is now 7-2 overall on the season.

The Cyclones have now won 16 of their last 18 duals dating back to a 19-15 at Rutgers on Jan. 17 last season. The win today was ISU’s 700th dual win all-time vs. active Division I opponents.

Iowa State welcomes No. 4 Iowa (3-0, 0-0 Big Ten) next Sunday to Hilton Coliseum  in the annual Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk, with the action starting at 2 p.m. CST.

Match-By-Match Results:

125 – Earl Hall (ISU) wbf. Brandon Jeske (ODU), 6:06

133 – Scott Festejo (ODU) dec. RJ Hallman (ISU), 8-2

141 – No. 13 Chris Mecate (ODU) dec. Gabe Moreno (ISU), 3-0

149 – No. 16 Alexander Richardson (ODU) dec. Luke Goettl (ISU), 8-4

157 – No. 17 Tristan Warner (ODU) dec. John Nicholson (ISU), 6-3

165 – No. 3 Michael Moreno (ISU) tech fall Dillion Geoghegan, 22-7 (3:41 RT)

174 – Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) dec. Billy Curling (ODU), 6-2 (2:21 RT)

184 – No. 10 Tanner Weatherman (ISU) dec. Austin Coburn (ODU), 7-2 (3:28 RT)

197 – No. 3 Kyven Gadson (ISU) dec. Jake Anderson (ODU), 5-1 (2:23 RT)

285 – Matt Tourdot (OSU) dec. Ben Perna (ISU), 6-2 



Cyclone Fanatic