Olympic Sports

ISU puts three in NCAA semifinals, tied for third

Courtesy of Iowa State Athletic Communications OMAHA, Neb – Three Iowa State wrestlers are NCAA wrestling semifinalists after scoring wins in the quarterfinals of their respective weights Friday morning at the 2010 NCAA Championships at the Qwest Center. Cyclones Andrew Long (125), Jake Varner (197) and David Zabriskie (HWT) will appear in semifinal action during Session IV at 6 p.m. tonight. ISU is in tied for third place with Ohio State with 46 points. Iowa leads with 73, and Cornell is second with 54 points. Six Cyclones in total remain alive in competition, with three ISU wrestlers in the consolation rounds. Tonight’s semifinals will be broadcast live on ESPNU.

“We have six guys that are in this tournament and we are dedicated to doing everything we can to help them get ready for tonight. As a coaching staff, we aren’t satisfied with our performance but we have six men who are alive.”

Read more about Friday’s action in Omaha by CLICKING HERE.

Session III Results — Championship Quarterfinals

125 pounds – No. 5 Andrew Long (ISU) dec. No. 4 Anthony Robles (Arizona State), 5-3 133 pounds – No. 2 Daniel Dennis (Iowa) dec. No. 10 Nick Fanthorpe (ISU), 4-3 149 pounds – No. 2 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) major dec. No. 7 Mitch Mueller (ISU), 16-4 197 pounds – No. 1 Jake Varner (ISU) vs. No. 8 Sonny Yohn (Minnesota) HWT – No. 1 David Zabriskie (ISU) dec. No. 9 Mark Ellis (Missouri), 4-1

Consolation Round 3

141 pounds – No. 7 Filip Novachkov (Cal Poly) dec. Dalton Jensen (ISU), 6-5 165 pounds – No. 4 Jon Reader (ISU) dec. No. 10 Alex Meade (Oklahoma State), 8-2 174 pounds – Dorian Henderson (Missouri) major dec. Duke Burk (ISU), 11-3 184 pounds – Jerome Ward (ISU) dec. No. 11 Dave Erwin (Penn State), 8-3

Consolation Round 4

165 pounds – No. 4 Jon Reader (ISU) dec. No. 12 Paul Young (Indiana), 13-11


Cyclone Fanatic