Public v Private - Civil Engineering

EnhancedFujita

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jan 28, 2013
Johnston
I'm not an engineer but have worked public sector for 15+ years working alongside engineers on the public side and private side. I've worked a lot closer with the public side, so will I can't give specifics, I would say that the public side isn't without its own pressures. Its just different that the private side.

My guess is that if you ended up at a large public organization in a staff level role, your stress and pressure would be a lot less. However, as you get into higher roles, there are some real pressures that are different than the private side. Especially if you end up in a smaller organization where you have a higher amount of responsibility.

The issues as I see it tend to be that there are a crap ton of things that need to get done but not enough funding. Plus everyone has an opinion on what is the most important thing to do, which can lead to some real friction.

Reactions: 2ndCyCE

Sousaclone

Apr 29, 2006
North of Seattle
I'm not an engineer but have worked public sector for 15+ years working alongside engineers on the public side and private side. I've worked a lot closer with the public side, so will I can't give specifics, I would say that the public side isn't without its own pressures. Its just different that the private side.

My guess is that if you ended up at a large public organization in a staff level role, your stress and pressure would be a lot less. However, as you get into higher roles, there are some real pressures that are different than the private side. Especially if you end up in a smaller organization where you have a higher amount of responsibility.

The issues as I see it tend to be that there are a crap ton of things that need to get done but not enough funding. Plus everyone has an opinion on what is the most important thing to do, which can lead to some real friction.