Olympic Sports

Chonlada Chayanun Named Iowa State’s Female Athlete of the Year

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – Chonlada Chayanun ended her outstanding golfing career by setting Iowa State records in season stroke average (73.09), career stroke average (74.71), 54-hole score (209) and 18-hole score (65).

She was rewarded for her outstanding performance on the links this season by earning Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year honors, announced today by the Iowa State Athletics Department.

A native of Nakhonratchaslma, Thailand, Chayanun established herself as one of the greatest golfers in Iowa State history. The two-time First-Team All-Big 12 selection placed in the top-10 four times in 2014-15, including a victory at the Lady Puerto Rico Classic. Chayanun posted rounds of 66-69-74 in Puerto Rico, breaking the school’s 54-hole scoring mark (209) and earning Golfweek National Player of the Week honors.

Chayanun, who owns four of the top-five 18-hole scores in school history (65, 66, 66, 67), earned Big 12 All-Tournament honors for the second-straight season in 2015 by placing in the top-10 at the conference meet. She ended the season ranked 61st nationally by Golfweek.

As a junior in 2014, Chayanun placed seventh at the NCAA Championships, the highest finish ever by a Cyclone in a postseason tournament. She played in four NCAA Regionals in her record-breaking career.

Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year Winners
1980 Mary Seybold Track & Field
1981 Debbie Vetter Track & Field
1982 Annette Ackerson Swimming
1983 Tanya Roach Swimming
1984 Diane Doles Volleyball
1985 Tonya Burns Basketball
1986 Jane Lobenstein Basketball
1987 Nawal El Moutawakel Track & Field
1988 Linda Evans Volleyball
1989 Carmen Jaspers Basketball
1990 Jennie Condon Softball
1991 Jennifer Adams-Keitges Swimming
1992 Edith Nakiyingi Track & Field
1993 Karen Glerum Track & Field
1994 Melanie Young Basketball
1995 Kary Law Volleyball
1996 Beth Bader Golf
1997 Kim Mazza Gymnastics
1998 Stacy Frese Basketball
1999 Stacy Frese Basketball
2000 Stacy Frese Basketball
2001 Megan Taylor Basketball
2002 Angie Welle Basketball
         Gina Curtis-Rickert Track & Field
2003 Gina Curtis-Rickert Track & Field
2004 Janet Anson Gymnastics
2005 Anne O’Neil Basketball
2006 Janet Anson Gymnastics
2007 Lyndsey Medders Basketball
2008 Lisa Koll Track/Cross Country
2009 Kaylee Manns Volleyball
2010 Lisa Koll Track/Cross Country
2011 Kelsey Bolte Basketball
2012 Betsy Saina Track/Cross Country
2013 Betsy Saina Track/Cross Country
2014 Christina Hillman Track & Field
2015 Chonlada Chayanun Golf



Cyclone Fanatic