KXNO/iHeart Layoffs

mj4cy

Asst. Regional Manager
Staff member
Mar 28, 2006
Iowa
The first layoff I did as a manager I was assigned the group who survived the cuts

There is some guilt there. They took it worse than the group that wasn't terminated.

I could definitely see that. You could tell anyone not laid off yesterday felt horrible and took no joy in it. Obviously there is some relief when you are safe, but there is no joy if you care about others.

I was laid off 10 years ago and at the time my world stopped and I feared the future. Looking back, it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I have a job I love that pays twice that job did now.

IcSyU

Nov 27, 2007
Rochester, MN
Wish cooler heads would have prevailed here. Why couldn't iheart told the on air talent a couple months ago "look we aren't going to have the money to keep this up long term, but wanted to give you time to set up your own advertisements and essentially pay for yourself"....seems like it'd be a win win.
Often times you don't know what's happening until some bean counter in the back room makes up their mind and decides they need to make drastic decisions very quickly. They don't want you going out and stealing their advertisers from underneath them. They still want the advertisers after you're gone. They're trying to cut costs....not all their revenue too.

Cydkar

Apr 12, 2006
Controversial question:
Do we know that these moves aren't good for the company? It's not a non-profit.

On the surface it looks like a bad move but maybe it isn't. A company in trouble can't stand pat.

beentherebefore

Nov 24, 2007
The company is in trouble. Cutting employees--and it always sucks--is often the easiest way to lower overall operational costs.