In Memoriam: Ames Business/Restaurants

cyhiphopp

Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
Ankeny
I had a buddy who would order 10 cheeseburgers and a bag of Cy Fries before going out Saturday Night. He'd eat 4 or 5 cheeseburgers and the bag of Fries, drink a 30 of Stones or Natty, and then polish off the rest. He gained a few pounds in college.

Dear god. I thought I ate a lot in college. Makes eating a $5 medium from Dominos seem tame.

cyhiphopp

Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
Ankeny
And he never really got fat. Just thicker. I mean he gained weight, a lot of it, but it wasn't like he got huge.

I didn't get too big until after I graduated and got a fun desk job! Though I've never been skinny.

clonedude

Apr 16, 2006
Easily the first one that came to my mind was DaVinci's. Those hot subs... wow!

Others I loved....

Lost and Found (upstairs above Cy's Roost)- best chill place to go and have a cold beer and listen to some great music.

Peoples- no explanation.

Happy Joe's- we'd always head down there for the buffet whatever night that was?

Duggan's Deli- great sandwiches and great live music too.

Lukalan's (no idea how it was spelled?)- downtown Ames Italian restaurant I believe. Only actually ate there once- we always went there for fishbowls on Fridays.

Best times of my life.... hands down. Miss it so much.

83cy

May 14, 2006
Some great memories here.

- Taking girlfriends to Boyds
- Is Aunt Maudes still there.
- There was a Brown Bottle in Marshalltown also.
- Grandaddies when the wrestlers came in you knew shet was going to happen.
- Fox was good for date night.
- Duggens Deli was the first bar I ever went into in Ames, I was 17, I know it was a bar/deli but I got served and played Donkey Kong.
- Head Shop above the Cave Inn for haircuts.
- Hallway at the Mall had twofers on Zombies Tuesday nights, not sure how I got home.

Last edited:
Reactions: BoxsterCy

beentherebefore

Nov 24, 2007
Lost and Found lounge
Cave inn
Thumbs Up
Top of the Town
Fox Lounge