Women's Basketball

WBB: Emily Ryan named to Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletics Communications:

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2024 Nancy Lieberman Award, which includes Iowa State senior Emily Ryan. Now in its 24th year, the award recognized the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.  A national committee of top college basketball personnel determine the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking, and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman.

“The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame is honored to celebrate both men and women at all levels of the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. “The players being recognized today on the Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List have proven that they are masters of their game and have become outstanding examples of the bright future basketball has. We look forward to evaluating this year’s top point guards with Nancy Lieberman, a Hall of Famer who helped pave the way for today’s female athletes.”ADVERTISING

Ryan, a Claflin, Kansas native, is a repeat selection for the watch list after being featured in 2023. Last season she started all 32 games for the Cyclones and averaged a Big 12-high 36.3 minutes per game. Ryan was Second Team All-Conference in 2022-23 while averaging 10.6 points per game and dishing out 204 assists, becoming the first player in Iowa State women’s basketball history to pass out over 200 dimes in a season twice. Earlier this month, Ryan was chosen as a member of the All-Big 12 Preseason Team.

Ryan and Nyamer Diew will appear at the Big 12 Tip-Off in Kansas City tomorrow (Tuesday) along with head coach Bill Fennelly. The Big 12 Now show will be simulcast on ESPNU from 11:30 – 3:30 CT tomorrow.

2024 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

Sarah AndrewsBaylor Lauren Park-LaneMississippi State
Jaylyn SherrodColoradoDeja KellyNorth Carolina
McKenna HofschildColorado StateOlivia MilesNotre Dame
Kaylynne TruongGonzagaJacy SheldonOhio State
Makira CookIllinoisMakenna MarisaPenn State
Caitlin ClarkIowaTe-Hina PaopaoSouth Carolina
Emily RyanIowa StateDyaisha FairSyracuse
Zakiyah FranklinKansasRori HarmonTexas
Serena SundellKansas StateNika MühlUConn
Shyanne SellersMarylandGeorgia AmooreVirginia Tech

*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2023-24 season