Hilton's Floor Shaking

• After Iowa State won the Big 12, a Cyclone made a wonderful offer to We Will that now increases our match. Now all gifts up to $400,000 between now and the Final 4 will be matched. Please consider giving at We Will Collective.
    This notice can be dismissed using the upper right corner X button.

CynadoAlley

Nov 28, 2010
Siouxland
My first game was in 2011 so take it FWIW. "Threesus Saves" against OSU was definitely the loudest one-off moment in my time there, but the roar when MG missed his second free throw and when Hogue had the transition dunk in the OU comeback rank right up there.

The consistent level of noise during the second half of the OU game still blows my mind to this day. Coincidentally, that happened to be my last game as a student in Hilton, so it just felt extra special.

A couple honorable mentions that don't even come close but hold a special place for me as I was a freshman experiencing Hilton Magic for the first time: the Babb dagger against KU that finally signified that we were back, and the Scotty "Thug Lyfe" Christopherson three pointer that put us ahead of Baylor for good (if I remember right, making it 62-59) on senior night.

Reactions: NWICY

ImJustKCClone

Ancient Argumentative and Accidental Assassin Ape
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jun 18, 2013
traipsing thru the treetops
The short answer is yes.

The long answer is anything during a :30 TO is on the fly, reactionary mostly to who called the timeout. You can't say ahead of time that we will do X at the first :30 and Y at the second :30, because you don't know who is going to call those timeouts or when (or why).
Truth, I (Music guy/Marketing intern) would have the game director (Up by the TV cameras) in my ear on the headset and I would be speaking to Gary on my left, I would decide on a "Hot Timeout" song out of about 3/4 we had cued up on the software and then when the hot TO came we just hit the music as soon as play was stopped.