Riding time

Rick

Mar 18, 2007
Ankeny
I have been to or watched 5 meets so far this year. The one thing I don't get is why we don't try to get riding time in a lot of matches. Yesterday there were at last 6 times the other wrestler was up and out in under 9 seconds and we didn't appear to even want to hold them down. These were tight matches and riding out a guy for 30-60 seconds would seem to be an optimal idea to tire the bottom guy out. Am I missing something here, are our guys just not good on top or is this something Dresser would be coaching them to do. I am a novice fan at most but it gets maddening to give up the point that quick.

stuclone

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Oct 5, 2013
Ames, IA
I have been to or watched 5 meets so far this year. The one thing I don't get is why we don't try to get riding time in a lot of matches. Yesterday there were at last 6 times the other wrestler was up and out in under 9 seconds and we didn't appear to even want to hold them down. These were tight matches and riding out a guy for 30-60 seconds would seem to be an optimal idea to tire the bottom guy out. Am I missing something here, are our guys just not good on top or is this something Dresser would be coaching them to do. I am a novice fan at most but it gets maddening to give up the point that quick.

if you’re frustrated with the riding ability of this team, you’re lucky you missed the KJ years

CyBobby

Oct 18, 2006
Central Iowa
if you’re frustrated with the riding ability of this team, you’re lucky you missed the KJ years

I agree stuclone...In the KJ years it was like...What is riding time?.....Never heard of it.....and we sure can't do it....Kevin Jackson might just be the worst wrestling coach ...NOT just in my lifetime, but in the history of ISU Wrestling.....

• Agree
Reactions: stuclone

CycloneVet

Jul 17, 2011
Cedar Falls