Generation Y and Z Debt

agcy68

Feb 9, 2007
Iowa
Its not complicated. Everything costs more and wages are flat. Millennials have gone into extreme debt to make up the difference. At some point it will become unsustainable and the economy will crash. Then we will get another round of boomers and gen Z blaming Millennials. I guess its our fault no matter what :(

Are wages really flat?

I am also curious how many fresh college graduates try to live within their means? Start their budget from the bottom and work their way up? Not to sound to arrogant, but when I graduated, didn't have internet or cell phones, couldn't afford new/er cars, couldn't afford cable, started with 1950's hand-me-down furniture from my wife's grandparent's attic. Didn't go out to eat and didn't take vacations. Played a lot of cards with friends on Saturday nights or hang out with family.

So, simple question: how many kids have jumped into expenses they really can't afford?

CyCloned

Oct 18, 2006
Robins, Iowa
College has gotten much more expensive in the last decade, there's no doubt about that. But with some work and planning it can be done without accumulating $100k in debt.

Cars have gotten really expensive too. But there sure seemed to be a lot of 4 door four wheel drive pickup trucks in the Wal-Mart parking lot.

Reactions: bear24

Sigmapolis

Minister of Economy
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 10, 2011
Waukee
Agree. But our society still needs things like doctors, engineers, architects, etc. that require lots of education. Should those professions be reserved only for the rich?

One of my wife's best friends from medical school came from dirt poor nothing in one of the redneck regions of northwestern Florida -- as white trash as it came.

Notice I said medical school -- she is now an MD and practicing physician.

She joined the Air Force and made it through. No debt. Great salary during and after residency. JD Vance from Hillbilly Elegy did the same thing with the Marines to Yale Law.