Iowa State football receives ESPY nomination for “Best Upset”

By Chris Williams, PublisherFollow Chris on Twitter @ChrisMWilliams  

The biggest win in Iowa State football history is up for a prestigious national award.

According to ABC5 sports director Dave Zawilinski’s Twitter feed, Paul Rhoads, Jake Knott, Jeff Woody, Jared Barnett and Ter’Ran Benton will represent Iowa State’s football program at the 2012 ESPY Awards that will be held in New York on July 11. The awards program will begin at 7 p.m. central and televised on ESPN.

Iowa State is being nominated in the "Best Upset" category. CLICK HERE to vote for the award.

Winning the ESPY won’t be easy. Iowa State is going up against the L.A. Kings winning the Stanley Cup as an 8-seed, Lehigh defeating Duke in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, and Norfolk State doing the same to Missouri.